Creative Photoshop Project: Postcard In Retro Design

Design by KeMP

A couple of days ago I had a desire to do another Photoshop project I haven’t done before. Some years ago I purchased a great graphic design book called Retro Graphics Cookbook. In there are ‘recipes’ to recreate 100 years of graphic design.

The style I chose is from the 1900s early modern area. And how did I do it?

1. Select a silhouette with the pen tool

2. Drag the selection into a new window and make sure you choose RGB as colour mode.

3. Choose the Sketch – Stamp Filter. The light/dark balance slider turns the image from solid white to solid black.

4. Create extra layers for the face and the hands and choose a skin coloured brush to paint the hands and the face. Do the same for the lips and teeth.

5. Change the colour of the background to what ever colour you prefer.

6. Create a new layer for the Foreground colour, marking the area with the Marquee Tool and choose a colour you like.

7. Choose the text tool and write a text of your choice. I chose Broadway as my font.

See also:

FUN PHOTO PROJECTS: CROP THAT FACE AND MESS IT UP

SURREAL PHOTO PROJECT: PUT YOURSELF IN A KITCHEN TOOL

Back HOME

Technorati Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment